Skip to content

Welcome to

Leesburg Heritage Society, Inc & Museum

111 South Sixth Street – Leesburg, FL 34748-5874

Museum hours are:

Monday – Friday – 10:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Phone: 352.315.1800

E-mail: leesburgheritagesociety22@outlook.com

COMMUNITY UPDATE

The new season will begin in October — October 4th. The program will be announced in September. Plan to come. PLEASE REMEMBER: NEW TIME: 1:30 for refreshments and mingling, 2:00 for the meeting NEW LOCATION: The City’s new building at Rogers Park, 610 S Ninth St. Plan to be there early, for the refreshments by Beyers Funeral Home at 1:30.

Per: Jim Miller, President

PLEASE VISIT OUR NEWEST PAGE

The Old Sumter County Courthouse

SPECIAL MOTE-MORRIS HOUSE UPDATE

The Mote-Morris House is rebuilt and ready to use.
 

     Leesburg’s historic Mote-Morris House will be open again for tours on Saturday, February 12th, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Free admission.  Newly rebuilt and redecorated, come by and see the changes.  Enthusiastic tour guides will answer all your questions.  The house and grounds can be rented from the city; call 352-728-9885.

       Everyone is welcome!

 
Glorianne Fahs
Leesburg Heritage Society – 02.10.2022
 

HERE ARE TWO VIEWS OF THE NEW RESTORATION ITEMS

CONGRATULATIONS!

     to (L-R) Richard Horsley. Richard is with the federally funded program. Dawson Brads & Mark Lemaire are students at Beacon College. Dawson & Mark completed forty hours internship at LHS Museum for the 2021 Summer Career Immersion Program. 

Thank you all for all your help.

Previous
Next
    The Leesburg Historical Museum
     is conveniently located in the historic Woman’s Club Building, at 111 S. Sixth Street (between Main St. & Magnolia St.), which was used for many years later by Lassiter-Ware Insurance. The museum faces the Life Stream Building which is the tallest building in Leesburg.

         The museum has an interesting history all its own.

       It has been home to the Leesburg Library, the Leesburg Chamber of Commerce, several civic clubs, the Leesburg High School Prom and the Poinsettia Ball. The museum is crammed with artifacts and items that help tell the story about Leesburg – from the days that citrus was king and the popular Watermelon Festival was a highlight for kids and adults alike, to the Leesburg Centennial in 1957, Sesquicentennial Celebration in 2007, and gathering places such as the Magnolia Hotel and the Lake View Hotel.

          A short history of the GFWC Woman’s Club of Leesburg:

  • October 20,1909. Formed with eighteen ladies to organize club
  • October 9, 1922. New 2 story clubhouse completed, grand reception held in December
  • March 14, 1946. Clubhouse sold to Paul Lassiter; two lots purchased on Ninth Street. October 10,1949. 40th anniversary/meeting at new clubhouse.
  • March 2018.  Sold building to Grace Evangelical Presbyterian Church.  Allowed to hold meetings there for three years.  The Club donated several artifacts to Leesburg Heritage Museum for display.
         Several artifacts may be seen in a dedicated showcase, including a handsome silver tea service (seen below). ,

Silver Tea Service

(Donated by the GFWC Woman’s Club of Leesburg)

    

PLEASE CLICK HERE
PLEASE CLICK HERE

Other Community Resources & Direct Links

CLICK IMAGE FOR DIRECT LINK
CLICK IMAGE FOR DIRECT LINK
CLICK IMAGE FOR DIRECT LINK
CLICK IMAGE FOR DIRECT LINK

The Leesburg Heritage Society, Inc. is a proud member of...


& the

Welome Guest#